ANCESTOR OF THE DAY: King of Scythia, Bathath Farssaidh

The ancestor of the day doesn’t have much information about his life other than that he was the king of the Scythians. If we choose to write a book on him it will have to be total fiction. If we do write about him I would like to gather information before and after his time, also what else we can dig up that went on around his time. This would give me an idea of Bathath and who he might have been. My cousin A.A. Kelly is doing a great job with her research.

 

scythians
Picture found on Pintrest

ANCESTOR OF THE DAY: King of Scythia, Bathath Farssaidh

There is a surprising lack of information on this guy. I looked at many web sites and there was barely a snippet about him anywhere, although most websites went on to talk about the origins and culture of Scythia which is interesting. As I work through our Scythian King ancestors, I am going to insert a small piece of history about the Scythian land and history.

Bathath Farssaidh, King of Scythia is the 1st son of Magog and the one that our line descends from (supposedly). Understand I assert all this information loosely as it cannot be proved scientifically. Anyways he was born circa -2500 and died in Scythia. As I stated yesterday, according to the 11th century “Lebor Gabala Erenn” (Book of the Invasions of Ireland) and the 17th century “Annals of the Four Masters”, Bathath and his 3 brothers were the ancestors of the Irish kings. From “The origin and stem of the Irish Nation” by John O’Hart, it states, “Boath, (Bathath), one of the sons of Magog; to whom Scythia came as his lot, upon the division of the Earth by Noah amongst his sons, and by Japhet of his part thereof amongst his sons.”

From Wikipedia: “Scythia was a region of Central Eurasia in classical antiquity, occupied by the Eastern Iranian Scythians, encompassing parts of Eastern Europe east of the Vistula River and Central Asia, with the eastern edges of the region vaguely defined by the Greeks. The Ancient Greeks gave the name Scythia (or Great Scythia) to all the lands north-east of Europe and the northern coast of the Black Sea. “

Hope you are enjoying your trip through Scythia!

Researched and Authored by A.A. Kelly

Thank you for being interested in my family history,

H.E. Olsen

2 thoughts on “ANCESTOR OF THE DAY: King of Scythia, Bathath Farssaidh

  1. Ashley May 10, 2017 / 6:19 am

    My husband is related as well (loosely) as you stated 🙂 more info?? Giving you his email

    Like

    • H.E. Olsen May 11, 2017 / 1:38 pm

      Yay! We’re family. Email me at holsen68@yahoo.com. I will be posting more soon. I have so much more to post but I just started a job. I was so busy last week that I wasn’t even able to turn on my computer- it was pure torture. If you want you both can like my facebook page- https://www.facebook.com/holsen68/
      I’m there the most. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

