A Good Life… 1/19/2016

trying pic 006
Psalm 34:12
Who is the man who desires life, And loves many days, that he may see good?

My mom used to tell me, “Life is what you make it!” I remember being on my 6th grade field trip as I sat on the bus sulking over something. I can’t even remember what that something was. But I do remember mom giving me that advice. I thought she was crazy. I didn’t understand what she was saying, not until I became an adult.

Life is what we make it! We can make a bad life, where we’re miserable and try to make everyone around us miserable, where we only see the bad. We allow the darkness to consume us, bring us down, and tare us up inside and out. We can become depressed, hateful, and bitter as we live a life of negativity …or we can make a great life. We can smile like the sun, warming the souls of others. We can see the good in life, enjoying it to the fullest. We can be good, do good, and reap the rewards of good …The choice is ours.

This doesn’t mean that life will be easy if we choose to live a life of goodness. It means we can bring good from our hardship and struggles. It means we can smile through the pain, knowing things will turn out alright, to give someone in need your good pair of socks even though all your others may have holes, to bless someone else, who is struggling, with a hug- even though you are going through your own hardships. There is strength in a life of goodness.

Think about a couple moments when you were sulky and having an attitude. Did you have to react the way you did? Could you have reacted differently? Take those moments and let them teach you what needs to be done differently …You just brought good from those negative reactions!

Author H.E. Olsen

 

 

Leave a Reply

