Smelling Roses…1/17/2016

10343655_694706913912421_3152960495570838605_n[1]

1 Thessalonians 4:11

Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life.

I was feeling a bit overwhelmed yesterday so I decided to stop and smell the roses. I took it easy and gradually did some chores. Life here, at home, can become very chaotic from doing what’s expected of me to getting things done that I need to do. With adding, but looking very much forward to, pressure of sending chapters back and forth with my editor, I needed a day to mentally prepare.

Life can become frantic and hard to keep up with if we don’t pause once in a while. When we feel like we could spiral out of control it’s good to step back and regroup. We don’t do ourselves or others any good by becoming overstressed and frazzled. There is a friend, who I ride with sometimes, who becomes frazzled when a vehicle comes up behind, getting to close. This friend will speed up and get agitated yelling, “Get off my ass already!” The vehicle behind becomes an intimidation. No matter how fast my friend speeds up the vehicle stays close behind, almost tauntingly. When I’m behind the wheel and find myself in the same predicament, the first thing I tell myself is, “Stay calm and don’t panic.” I slow the car down. I find that two things will happen, the car behind will either pass me or back off. It’s almost as if the car behind me is thinking, “It’s not working so I’ll slow down or pass…”

I find the same thing works in life. Don’t get frazzled by the intimidations of life. Smell the roses. Breathe in its peaceful scent. Things will keep moving, our destination will still be there, whether we let the pressures make us frantic or not.

What’s getting you into a tizzy, making you feel overwhelmed today? Stay calm, be at peace, and tell yourself, “I’ve got this!”…….

Author H.E. Olsen

Leave a Reply

