You’re Being Watched… 1/15/2016

austins 6-11-2015 021

Psalm 33: 13-15(NKJV)

13 The Lord looks from heaven;
He sees all the sons of men.
14 From the place of His dwelling He looks
On all the inhabitants of the earth;
15 He fashions their hearts individually;
He considers all their works.

Have you ever stood by, unnoticed, and watched kids interact with each other?  I’ve done this with my kids, my nieces and nephews. When I hear a bit of commotion or arguing I quietly venture near them and spy until I know what’s going on. I’ll keep watching until it gets resolved or takes a turn for the worse. If the kids resolve it themselves then I walk away and leave it alone. But, if it keeps escalating- getting way out of hand, I will step in. I will move into view and ask, “What’s going on!” All the children turn to me with doe like eyes, then start the- “He did it!” or “She did it!”- scenarios. All ready knowing the truth I will let them spin their stories. One child, I’m not going to say if it’s my husbands and I’s child or a niece or nephew, can spin some tall tales. This child can just pull them from a hat out of nowhere. It amazes me how this child comes up with some stories, how believable they sound, and how this child is determine to make the story believable. If I didn’t already know the truth I would probably believe this child. When they’re done telling each of their versions, I will let the children who tell the truth off easier than the ones who lie. I then give these children a lecture on how telling lies will affect their lives. I hope someday it will sink in and they can have a full life of being an upstanding citizen.

Just as I watch the kids, God watches us. I like to picture God, sitting on His thrown, viewing everything I do. But since he is all knowing, and I am not, He can see my thoughts and inner most secrets. He doesn’t have to watch to understand what’s going on, like I do- he already knows. He knows if I’m telling a lie or living in truth. He knows if I’m being sneaky or standing up in what’s right. He knows everything! When things begin to escalate in our lives, He will step in and try to redirect us, we just have to listen. Our road changes by the choices we make. If I make bad choices and have bad outcomes, I don’t blame God, I blame myself. If I choose to lie and become known as a person who lies, I’m at fault- not God. God’s voice is always there, telling us to change course, it’s up to us to listen.

Live today, or the rest of the day-since I’m late getting this posted, with the thought of Gods eyes over your shoulder and see what you would do differently.

Author H.E. Olsen

Leave a Reply

