Crossroads…1/11/2016

{55CA25D3-7312-4B78-AB93-6A099C87515B}-017 (2)

Philippians 4: 11-13

I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: 12 I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. 13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Change can be hard, it can be really scary, but change is good! We become creatures of habit letting the things we understand and know become an addiction to our way of thinking and our way of life. We develop the, “Have to” A drunk has to go to the bar. A perfectionist has to keep cleaning. A control freak has to have his/her way no matter what. Yes, I’m going to add, a Christian/believer has to go to a …certain church. We don’t often think about it, why we do it, we just have to. Then comes a time in our lives where we hit a crossroad. We become so addicted to what we know, of the things surrounding us, that we want to turn around and go back to our habits. We would rather stay put than grow, learn, and find strength in the new things ahead. It’s just too scary! But, life would have us journey on whether we want to or not. We can let life move around us while we keep ourselves in the bubble of our past or we can shake off our past, burst that bubble, and move with life. We were never meant to stay put. At a crossroad you have three choices. One could be going downhill, another uphill, and one could be curvy with switchbacks. When you stick inside your bubble of the past you won’t be given a choice. Life will just bump you along. When you choose to move forward, when you allow change, you get to choose which road to take, the big or small, and the up or down, or just straight ahead….

Each choice will bring a new journey. Each journey will bring blessings …that we’ll miss out on if we choose our past bubble. Trying to stick inside my own past bubble brought me depression. I struggled with negativity while life was moving forward. When my bubble burst and I got over my fear I found I love change. I love learning and seeing new things. I love the blessings I receive with each new journey. I now look forward to change…. I no longer have the Have to!

Author H.E. Olsen

What changes are happening in your life today? Are you fighting against it or moving forward with it? When you fight against change, you also fight against God. When you choose change and move forward God will walk with you. Fear is not of the Lord, so when you find fear, walk past it…..

Leave a Reply

